Posted by: michelle2005 | July 6, 2009

Sarah Palin Redefines Quitting

sarah palin

Please note the banner above of the SarahPAC,  soon to be ex-governor of Alaska’s political action committee. The first business day after her announcement to step down from her elected position, three prominent banners appeared on conservative websites such as the National Review Online asking people to donate to SARAHPAC’s  cause.  Make no mistake Sarah Palin has not resigned to protect her family from the vicious press, nor to benefit the people of Alaska.  Instead, she is running full steam towards her “higher calling.”

If she had a vision for Alaska’s future why would she trust it to an underling, remember that she is the vision.  If running Alaska is her ticket, her main experience that she brings to the table, then why not have Americans believe in Sean Parnell?  After all, he will have the almost same gubernatorial experience as Sarah Palin by 2010.   Think about that, if running the state of Alaska is so easy that just plugging in any conservative ideologue into the position will yield the same results.  Why elect Sarah Palin to any office ahead of any other candidate?  If her vision has been accomplished, where are the results? Now that oil revenues are much lower than last fall, with looming budget cuts and unpopular decisions to be made is this the mark of a conservative leader to say I can do no more?

Let me ask this, if Bill Gates or Stephen Jobs had simply left their vision for Microsoft and Apple to those below them would the resultant product have been the same?  Consider this odd statement by Gov. Palin:

I won’t do it from the Governor’s desk..  I’ve never believed that I, nor anyone else, needs a title to do this – to make a difference… to HELP people. So I choose, for my State and my family, more “freedom” to progress, all the way around… so that Alaska may progress… I will not seek re-election as Governor.”


Does Governor Palin even think before she speaks, “so that Alaska may progress…I will not seek re-election as Governor.” Really, the only way for Alaska to progress is for the current Governor to step down?

Reading more of her speech, we have this gem:

“Let me go back to a comfortable analogy for me – sports… basketball. I use it because you’re naïve if you don’t see the national full-court press picking away right now: A good point guard drives through a full court press, protecting the ball, keeping her eye on the basket… and she knows exactly when to pass the ball so that the team can WIN. And I’m doing that – keeping our eye on the ball that represents sound priorities – smaller government, energy independence, national security, freedom! And I know when it’s time to pass the ball – for victory.”

What is this about she passing to ball to someone else to uphold the banner of “smaller government, energy dependence national security, freedom.”.  Instead, apparently she can help Alaskans and Americans by using platitudes instead of actions to lead our country.  So now she proposes to extol others to do the work she could not finish.    That’s what we really need… a person whose policies are not fully vetted who claims victory while the ship is still out of port, mission accomplished anyone, not for me!

I like to think that SARAHPAC’s logo leaves a hole in the United States (the shape of Alaska), just like the reasoning of the Governor Sarah Palin has one big hole… Logic!

A word about the Republican Party:

I have said quite often that I was a staunch Republican supporter for many years; I believed that the country needed a strong leader who was on the right path morally according to biblical standards.  What I found out as I spent more time, as a member of the party, is that no one party has hold moral values. Repeatedly I witnessed denigration of the Democratic Party and strong defense for Republican candidates who were just a culpable.  My eyes were open to the lack of objectivity within my own Party.  This came to a bold realization when I was turned away from re-entrance to a George W. Bush fundraiser (to which I was personally invited) because I had stopped to speak to demonstrators.  I had my pass credentials confiscated and was told that I needed to leave, even though my then husband was still in attendance.

This made me wonder were members of my party so zealous that my mere listening to the opposition would brand me as the enemy.  Have we really decided that the press is so in the bag for the other party that we must always listen to news that champions every cause of the Right and denounces the Left as traitors?  Sarah Palin and SARAHPAC is not the objective route to our salvation.

Michelle

Responses

  1. Even when I heard the announcement, and more so now, I’m convinced she’s done this to 1) make dollars personally and 2) raise money for a bid.

    She has a base … unquestionably …. but bases are never enough to win. The question is can she expand her base? Alienating people won’t get it … nor will continually playing the victim card.

    Unfortunately, stepping into the national spotlight brings scrutiny & publicity – whether wanted or not. Hillary Clinton knows this as well as anyone … and also provides a model to follow in those situations …. and it seems that Palin is going in a different direction.

    I’ll be nice and provide one suggestion for her … get a new speech writer.

    ****Thanks Frank…I agree she needs a new speech writer, but I would also suggest some classes in civics and learn how the government runs. I would also suggest she grow some thicker skin. If she cannot answer some questions by the media without sounding like a sixth grader….something is sorely missing.

    Michelle****


Leave a Reply

Categories

