Posted by: michelle2005 | February 26, 2009

Conservative Prescription for Economic Wellness

logo20boy20scouts20usa1

The following is the Boy Scout Oath, Law, Motto and Slogan:

Scout Oath (or Promise)

On my honor I will do my best

To do my duty to God and my country

and to obey the Scout Law;

To help other people at all times;

To keep myself physically strong,

mentally awake, and morally straight.

 

Scout Law

TRUSTWORTHY

 

A Scout tells the truth. He keeps his promises. Honesty is part of his code of conduct. People can depend on him.

 

LOYAL

 

A Scout is true to his family, Scout leaders, friends, school, and nation.

 

HELPFUL

 

A Scout is concerned about other people. He does things willingly for others without pay or reward.

 

FRIENDLY

 

A Scout is a friend to all. He is a brother to other Scouts. He seeks to understand others. He respects those with ideas and customs other than his own.

 

 

COURTEOUS

 

A Scout is polite to everyone regardless of age or position. He knows good manners make it easier for people to get along together.

 

KIND

 

A Scout understands there is strength in being gentle. He treats others as he wants to be treated. He does not hurt or kill harmless things without reason.

 

 

OBEDIENT

 

A Scout follows the rules of his family, school, and troop. He obeys the laws of his community and country. If he thinks these rules and laws are unfair, he tries to have them changed in an orderly manner rather than disobey them.

 

 

CHEERFUL

 

A Scout looks for the bright side of things. He cheerfully does tasks that come his way. He tries to make others happy.

 

 

THRIFTY

 

A Scout works to pay his way and to help others. He saves for unforeseen needs. He protects and conserves natural resources. He carefully uses time and property.

 

 

BRAVE

 

A Scout can face danger even if he is afraid. He has the courage to stand for what he thinks is right even if others laugh at or threaten him.

 

CLEAN

 

A Scout keeps his body and mind fit and clean. He goes around with those who believe in living by these same ideals. He helps keep his home and community clean.

 

 

REVERENT

 

A Scout is reverent toward God. He is faithful in his religious duties. He respects the beliefs of others.

 

Scout Motto

Be Prepared

Scout Slogan

Do a Good Turn Daily

 

 

Please note that my comments below are demarked by bold font.

 

I was searching for the local news on my radio dial while driving home yesterday when I heard the Glenn Beck Show.  The following are Glenn Beck’s nine principles and twelve values belonging to his “We are not alone project.”  According to Mr. Beck:

 

There is a lot of bad news out there. Our economy is tanking and does not show signs of improving. People are losing their jobs 500 million a month according to Nancy Pelosi and there are more cuts on the way.

 

People around the world are taking to the streets. Our government responds to problem with “bailouts.” When you reach out to them, you get no response while Ponzi scheme crooks get away with millions and tax cheats get promotions.

 

Terrorists are on the run, and you just want to keep your family safe.

 

It is enough to make you want to just give up!

 

But I am here to tell you something important: You are not alone, and if you believe in a majority of these nine principles then keep watching because I am going to prove it to you to.

 

I have been telling you about theYou Are Not Alone project and the Nine Principles principles that have made this country great.

 

I didn’t pull these out of thin air. I borrowed from scripture. I got them from the Founding Fathers. And honestly, a lot of these principles are just common sense.

 

This is not a partisan thing. This is not about elephant or donkey, liberal or conservative. This is about Americans making their voices heard.

 

Part 1 of this project: Read the Nine Principles. And, if you believe in at least seven of them, e-mail your photo to:wesurroundthem@foxnews.com

 

 

1. America is good place, not perfect, but good.

2. I believe in God and He is the center of my life.

3. I must try to be a better, more honest person than I was yesterday.

4. The family is sacred. My spouse and I are the ultimate authority.

5. If you break the law you pay the penalty. Justice is blind and no one is above it.

6. I have a right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness and not a guarantee of equal results.

7. I work hard for what I have. I will share it with who I want to. Government cannot force me to be charitable.

8. It is not un-American for me to disagree or share my personal opinion.

9. The government works for me. I do not answer to them. They answer to me.

 

Below Glenn Beck’s 9 Principle logo, just a little extreme!

 

 

2_61_320_principles

 

Now it is time for Step 2 and we add the 12 Values.

 

They are:

 

• Honesty
• Reverence
• Hope
• Thrift
• Humility
• Charity
• Sincerity
• Moderation
• Hard work
• Courage
• Personal responsibility
• Friendship

 

Does anyone see any similarity?

 

Years ago when Bill Dana’s Character Jose Jimenez was addressing what makes a good athlete, he stated some of the above qualities, the interviewer asked “and that will make him a good athlete….?”

 

Dana would reply “no, but that would make him a swell boy scout.”  Perhaps we should all get out our scout uniforms (boys and girl scouts) or scan pictures of our old scouting days and send them into wesuroundthem@foxnews.com.  By the way, since this is not as Mr. Beck notes a partisan exercise who is the “them” that “we” surround?

 

 

Mr Beck Further elaborates the way forward from the economic crisis of which we are currently faced:

“These 12 Values, coupled with the Nine Principles — and I’m telling you we can solve any problem.

You know, our problem right now is we’re looking to Washington to solve everything for us. And then, “Oh, we’ve got to bail all these banks out. We’ve got to do this. We’ve got to do that.”

We’re making decisions so rapidly right now and we’re not pegged to any principles. We’re not pegged to any values.

I think the problem that we are suffering from is greed and envy and a lack of honesty. So how do we solve that? The values and the principles will solve everything for us. We can figure out anything.

Reverence: Do we have real reverence in America anymore? Are people quiet? Are they listening to the small, still voice ever? Do you ponder things?

Thrift: That was one of Benjamin Franklin’s biggest things, thrift. Do we do that? Are we are thrifty on anything anymore? We live in a disposable society and it shows in the way we treat our environment to our stuff. We just get another one. It’s time to change that habit.

Personal responsibility: My gosh, I’m responsible for me and you’re responsible for you. We’ll help each other out. But I’m responsible. And you know what? This goes all the way to the biggest problems that we have.

Everybody is blaming Madoff or the bankers or Wall Street or Washington. But you know what? You know who ultimately is responsible for everything that we’re going through? Us. We, the people.

It really is, in many ways, our fault, because we have un-pegged from principles and values.”

 

The Boy Scouts are a fine organization, scouting teaches many important qualities.  However, there exists a vast disconnect between Mr. Beck and the American people.  First, why has Mr. Beck decided to roll out these principles and values at this time?  Should Mr. Beck not have been emphasizing these “principles and values” all along?  I am particularly curious about this principle “8. It is not un-American for me to disagree or share my personal opinion.”  I have not heard this from Mr. Beck or anyone on the right in the last eight years.  Secondly, whatever happened to the “Ownership society”?  I do not remember hearing Mr. Beck decrying the increase in home buying and the very real housing bubble.

 

Apparently, in the fairy tale world of Glenn Beck all we have to do is emulate the scouts.  So don’t concern yourself about losing your job, don’t worry about the declining value of your retirement funds, you have only yourself to blame… really?  Pay no attention to the fact that large investment house have collapsed, and there is very little lending occurring.  All you have to do is photograph yourself, to show solidarity with this “We Are Not Alone Project”, a sort of latter day don’t blame me I voted for ________ whoever fill-in the blank,(e.g.Sen. McGovern, Vice President Gore) to explain away responsibility for President Richard M. Nixon, or President George W. Bush.  Only there is one little problem with the don’t blame me reasoning, getting George McGovern or Albert Gore elected would most likely have changed the course of history.  Telling the average American that the economic times of which we are faced could have been averted had they acted like scouts, is disingenuous to say the least, more likely duplicitous!

 

in-living-color-lg

 

One final note:  It is true no one forced Americans to take out large loans, or to buy houses without proper credit, but this was just a symptom, not the underlying cause of the collapse.   It was the “masters of the universe” from Wall Street who created credit default swaps, and collateralized debt obligations based on very high risk sub-prime mortgages.  These so called “synthetics” led to the venerable houses of Wall St. to need bailout money.   Captains of the industry have thrived on Americans extending their credit to buy more and more.  These two classes of Americans behaved not like Boy Scouts, but rather like Homey D. Clown of the Wayan Brothers “In Living Color” 90’s television show.  The Wall Street executives and CEO of America’s top corporations have an answer to Americans who wish for them to follow Mr. Beck; it is and always will be… to paraphrase Homey, We Don’t think so!  We Don’t play that!

 

 

homeyc

 

 

Michelle

 

Responses

  1. […] Conservative Prescription for Economic Wellness […]

  2. I found the idea of resurrecting the old “don’t tread on me” flag appalling. But “UNITE OR DIE”, what sort of patriotism is this? Mr. Beck and others one the right are not contributing to our economic survival with such tactics.

    ps. I noted that Gleen Beck stated the we are losing 500 million jobs according to Nancy Pelosi, I think the figures are actually being reported by the Department of Labor. Don’t blame the messenger!

    Allan…

    Thank you for taking the time to read this rather lenghty post. However, I’m deeply appreciative of the comment you left. I can always count on you to point out such relevant information.

    Michelle

  3. I’m a republican and have been for over twenty five years. The things they are doing and saying now are embarrassing. They need some fresh ideas and some rational people to put at the helm of the party or we’re sunk.

    The more they talk the more out of touch they appear. This post on the mindset of the conservative is very accurate. Small minded individuals produce small results. I wish there were a way I could go back and re-vote. Although Obama won, I now wish I could say that I had played a part in his winning.

    Steve…

    I can relate very well to you. However, I came out of the RNC after spending decades supporting them. I supported them with far more than just a vote. Perhaps, if you’re that unhappy with their performance and how they are conducting themselves currently…maybe one day, you’ll say that you, too, “had been” a member of the RNC.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this post and caring enough to leave a comment.

    Michelle

  4. You leftwing liberal nuts are all a like. You see a devil under every rock. Wake up and look around yourself. Who do you think got our country in such a mess?

  5. Ronald,

    Lovely question, let us see who has been in charge of the Presidency for the past eight years? Hmm, and who was in charge of congress from 1995-2006? Whose Contract was that with America?
    In other words, who has been making the decisions about what direction our country should go? Could that be Republicans? I think so! Tell me then how is it that you blame Liberals and anyone else of whom you disagree?

    Moreover, please, the fate of the country is not in question. This is just more empty rhetoric designed to scare Americans. Unite or Die? Using that slogan is appalling; I have found the devil under a rock, he is the great deceiver.

    How about an honest conversation?

    Allan…

    Excellent reply to Ronald! When I first read his comment, I laughed out loud…yet, didn’t know what to say as it appeared he was not able to connect the dots over the last eight years.

    Thanks for putting into words what I would have liked to say 🙂

    Michelle


Leave a Reply

Categories

