Posted by: michelle2005 | December 4, 2008

“I Rescued a Human Today”

 puppies-humane-society1

Recently, I came across a pet resuce blog.  On it someone had added a very touching letter written from the perspective of an adoptable pet.  The author is unknown.  I’m also going to include in this post, a photo of a “puppy mill”.   These are horrendous.  Anyone that knows the location of a puppy mill needs to report it to the authorities.

 

bloodhound-and-kitten

 

“Her eyes met mine as she walked down the corridor peering apprehensively into the kennels. I felt her need instantly and knew I had to help her. I wagged my tail, not too exuberantly, so she wouldn’t be afraid.

===============

As she stopped at my kennel I blocked her view from a little accident I had in the back of my cage. I didn’t want her to know that I hadn’t been walked today. Sometimes the shelter keepers get too busy and I didn’t want her to think poorly of them.

As she read my kennel card I hoped that she wouldn’t feel sad about my past. I only have the future to look forward to and want to make a difference in someone’s life.

===============

She got down on her knees and made little kissy sounds at me. I shoved my shoulder and side of my head up against the bars to comfort her. Gentle fingertips caressed my neck; she was desperate for companionship.

===============

A tear fell down her cheek and I raised my paw to assure her that all would be well. Soon my kennel door opened and her smile was so bright that I instantly jumped into her arms. I would promise to keep her safe. I would promise to always be by her side. I would promise to do everything I could to see that radiant smile and sparkle in her eyes. I was so fortunate that she came down my corridor. So many more are out there who haven’t walked the corridors. So many more to be saved. At least I could save one.

===============

I rescued a human today.”

===============

kittens2

 

Below is a photo of a “puppy mill”.  If you know of the location of any of these most atrocious “businesses”…inform the authorities immediately!

puppy-mill

 

 

 Michelle

 

Responses

  1. Definitely will if I ever see one, but lucky we don’t have much space here to have one.

    Guy…

    I was so glad to see that you’d stopped by today. Hope all is well with you and your girlfriend and that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    You are always so kind!

    Michelle

  2. Damn. you sure can write. This post is really good. Your stuff is always so interesting. Some of the political things you write are over my head.

    thank you for helping me figure out how to get Shasta house trained. You were right about taking him out more often through the night. It worked.

    Hi Andy…

    I’m glad things are progressing well with Shasta. The photo you emailed me was beautiful. How’s your little girl getting along with him? You should put that photo of Shasta and your daughter up on your site.

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.

    Michelle

  3. What a great way to express what really happens in the adoption of a pet 🙂 …. we maybe feel like we’re doing something special and saving an animal – but in actuality all the unconditional love flows from them to us – teaching us how it’s done 🙂

    Blessings on your very special friendship!

    Kimmie…

    Thank you for taking the time to read and leave a comment. It’s appreciated. I’m glad you liked this post.

    Thank you, too, for always being such a wonderful support and prayer partner. You’re a blessing from the Lord!

    Michelle

  4. That was so sweet. If ever I knew of a puppy mill it would put on blast as well as the police being called.

    I know you’re always busy with your own web site…and yet you take the time to read my posts. I’m very grateful.

    Michelle

  5. I had a neighbor that was breeding dogs and treating them real cruel. One of their rockwilder bit my sister. I called the police immediately. Great writing as usual.

    Dee…

    I’m sorry to hear that your sister had gotten bitten. When you called the police…what happened? Many times offenders get nothing more than a “slap on the wrist”. How is your sister? Those dogs are huge with a powerful bite ability. What happened to the dog?

    Thank you for the compliment on my writing…but it’s YOUR writing that is amazing. I’m always eager to read your new posts. Keep up the good work!

    Michelle

  6. Thanks for the touching pet article.

    SteadyCat…

    You’re always so gracious with your comments. ***Jenny waves to you, too***

    Michelle

  7. Nice post Michelle its made me feel like writing about Gizmo & Gadget, my two adorable hairy children.

    In the next week I hope to have a post and a picture up of them.

    Siovhinn

  8. The author appears to be Janine Allen: http://rescuemedog.org/dog-blog/i-rescued-a-human-today-by-janine-allen/

    PiedType…

    Thank you very much for this information. I’d received several emails asking if I knew who was the author…and I simply did not know. The one thing I did know was that whoever the author was has a heart of gold!

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle

  9. Thank you for posting my prose.

    Merry Christmas to all of you who make a difference in the life of a dog.

    Janine…

    Thank you so very much for stopping by…but most of all for the tireless work you do on behalf of dogs. Surely, you have a heart as wide as the Texas sky!

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle

  10. […] Read the rest of this superb post right here […]

  11. Hey, where did you find the bloodhound picture? It’s so adorable… if possible could you e-mail response? Thanks. 🙂

    Thanks for the reply! The photo of the bloodhound was emailed to me from a friend.

    Regards,

    Michelle


Leave a Reply

Categories

