Posted by: michelle2005 | November 13, 2008

“Signs of An Exhausted Mind”

yosemite-sam

There have been many days since I did my last post.  We are overjoyed at the historic election that has just taken place.  Our support, from the very beginning was for Senator Obama.   Now, he is President Elect Obama!  I am not alone in saying that in my lifetime I did not expect to have such a candidate as he.

 

 

Due to the fact, I had been a staunch Republican for three decades I have seen numerous election cycles.  The RNC has had significant wins.  I remember well when GW Bush won his first election.   I also remember when President Bush won his second term. 

 

What I did not see was raging anger coming from the DNC after President Bush won.  Of course, some voiced their displeasure.  This would be normal after a long campaign, especially if your candidate of choice was not elected.

 

However, what I am witnessing now with all the name-calling and fear mongering borders on the ridiculous.  Many of you have sent emails wondering why I have not done a post in over a week.  I, purposely, was sitting back trying to digest all this anger and outrage I am seeing come from those that are part of the Republican Party.  Name-calling and fear mongering is the sign of an exhausted mind.

 

This post can go into any one of several directions.  The outrageous claims by Sarah Palin, who continues to ‘bob and weave’ when asked questions.   When she does answer questions, they are circular in their replies.  Her blind ambition buoyed by the Republican right promotes style over substance.

 

 

The RNC said that “it would be good to have a woman on the ticket”.  Evidently ANY woman will do.  There are many qualified women, that have been “seasoned” in politics.  Yet, it appears for some reason…ANY woman will do.  Consider the things that come from Sarah Palin’s own mouth…

 

 

“You know, I have — faith is a very big part of my life. And putting my life in my creator’s hands — this is what I always do. I’m like, OK, God, if there is an open door for me somewhere, this is what I always pray, I’m like, don’t let me miss the open door. Show me where the open door is. Even if it’s cracked up a little bit, maybe I’ll plow right on through that and maybe prematurely plow through it, but don’t let me miss an open door. And if there is an open door in ‘12 or four years later, and if it is something that is going to be good for my family, for my state, for my nation, an opportunity for me, then I’ll plow through that door.” (I had a reader tell me that it appears Palin must have hit her head one time too many plowing through those doors!)

“As Putin rears his head and comes into the air space of the United States of America, where– where do they go? It’s Alaska. It’s just right over the border.” –Sarah Palin, explaining why Alaska’s proximity to Russia gives her foreign policy experience, interview with CBS’s Katie Couric, Sept. 24, 2008 (When I first shared with others Palin’s comment, they thought I was joking)

“All of ’em, any of ’em that have been in front of me over all these years.” –Sarah Palin, unable to name a single newspaper or magazine she reads, interview with Katie Couric, CBS News, Oct. 1, 2008 (How could a journalism major not be able to name one single newspaper or magazine?)

“We believe that the best of America is not all in Washington, D.C. … We believe that the best of America is in these small towns that we get to visit, and in these wonderful little pockets of what I call the real America, being here with all of you hard working very patriotic, um, very, um, pro-America areas of this great nation.” –Sarah Palin, in Greensoboro, N.C., Oct. 16, 2008 (Evidently the majority of us are not “real Americans”)

 

Nobody can make this stuff up.  She is also good at name-calling as we have all heard.   It is no secret that name-calling is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

colin-powell-flag

Then the ridiculous claims regarding the endorsement of Pres Elect Obama by Gen Colin Powell.   This is in a class by itself in its obviously skewed criticism.

 

The RNC was expecting the endorsement of Gen Powell to be given to Senator Mc Cain.  When this did not happen…certain radio individuals said it was only due to his race.  Now, lets take into consideration that when Gen Powell was on “Meet The Press” he gave very specific reasons for his endorsement.

 

Up until this point, said radio talk show host…had never said one negative comment regarding Gen Powell…actually it was quite the opposite.  Then several others “jumped on the band wagon” slamming Gen Powell due to his endorsement of Senator Obama.  Name-calling is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

There were so many ridiculous claims being said regarding Gen Powell, I looked up nearly 100 articles about Gen. Powell.  After spending a few days going through all these articles…I found that not even one had anything negative to say regarding Gen Powell.  The one prevailing theme about this man was of his unrelenting work on behalf of the government, his honesty and integrity.  I also read of his ability to unite those that worked for him.  His service in the military… unparalleled.  However, now since he endorsed Senator Obama…everything was suspicious.  Name-calling is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

Two days ago, I got an email from a woman whose son is in the military.  This woman told me she was informed that those serving in the military that are unhappy with Pres.Elect Obama…can leave military service.  When I tried to explain to her, our military does not work like this.  She became angry.  She sent an additional email to cursing at me for telling the truth.  I also provided her with links to the branch of service she told me about…and provided a telephone number.  She did not listen.  Name-calling is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

 

The worst was today, when I received an email from a friend of mine.  I had not seen this person in well over two years.  I moved back to the USA and they are still living overseas.  She told me that Pres Elect Obama had appointed a “known terrorist” as one of his advisors.  When she told me her name…I almost fell over laughing.  She named our governor….Gov. Jennifer Granholm.  Name-calling is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

 

 

 

My sitting back and just observing for a few days has shown me much.  It appears every nut-job in the nation is beginning to crawl out of the woodwork.  Many are talking about how they are arming themselves.  Others have said there “will be fighting in the streets”.   The news had validated that the sale of guns has gone up 8%.   Name-calling and fear mongering is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

jfk-and-caroline

There are still people slamming Mrs. Obama for saying this is the first time in her life she is proud of her country (those that listened to the whole thing know she was talking about the historic nature of the campaign).  Many other high profile people said exactly the same thing…such as Caroline Kennedy.  No one came against her for saying this same thing.  Those close to me have heard me echo the same sentiment.   Name-calling is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

 

 

Again, having been a Republican for three decades, I never witnessed such anger, outrage, name-calling, divisiveness and suspicion as I have after this election by those that “claim” they have supported Senator Mc Cain.  If this were true…then they would do as he asked.  Yet, they do not.

 

However, like a dying star the implosion happens from within before the total collapse.  Until Republican leaders see the big picture, their divisive policies (which have excluded the majority of Americans) continue to blind them to reality and their backbiting and name-calling will continue.  Name-calling is a sign of an exhausted mind.

 

 

Michelle

 

 

 

Responses

  1. […] “Signs of An Exhausted Mind” […]

  2. […] Two days ago, I got an email from a woman whose son is in the military. This woman told me she was informed that those serving in the military that are unhappy with Pres.Elect Obama…can leave military service. When I tried to explain to … Original post […]

  3. Your blog is one of the best I’ve ever read. I’ve been reading your material for almost a year.

    You’re tough, but always fair. I pay close attention to the things you write, especially since you’ve explained your prior alliance to the RNC. Personally, I don’t understand how you could have supported them for so long.

    It’s just good that you’ve changed your political views. Even to a skeptic, they would be rational reasons. Thank you for taking the time to write. Many of us that would like to write, just find the task too overwhelming.

    This post like the others, are power packed in their accuracy.

  4. Rush Limbaugh baselessly asserted that “Sarah Palin’s emails, personal emails, have been hacked, no doubt by Obama thugs.” This is also a sign of an exhausted mind. I love your blog. Glad you are back.

  5. I love the way you put in the quotes by Palin. She really is her own worst enemy. Her lack of knowledge on so many issues is obvious. The thing that surprises me is how the RNC is crying that this negative press is coming from the Democrats.

    It seems they are not keeping up with their own party “Princess”. The more she shoots off her mouth, the more ignorant of the facts she appears. I cannot beleive that the RNC is so eager for a female on the ticket, they select someone so inept.

    She has alienated the educated, those in large cities and those that use the latest technology. I read in an Alaska paper that some view the Palin’s as the “Wasilla Hillbillies”. Evidently, there is some truth to this. All one needs to do is listen to her speak. Sad, indeed.

  6. Steve, Dee and Andrea,

    Thank you for taking the time to read this post and leave a comment. I, too, find it astonishing that any critical thinking person could take Sarah Palin seriously.

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle

  7. If I need to clarify something political – I come to your blog!!! You are brave enough to put it all out there – and obviously strong enough to take the hits that will come your way for speaking the truth!!! Keep up the good work!!!

  8. Great post, Michelle.

  9. Ooglebloops and thebeadden,

    I’m grateful that you took the time to read this post and leave a comment. The feedback is appreciated.

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle

  10. you break things down so easily. the things you write are always good.

  11. Once again, another well thought-out post. Glad you’re back. I’ve missed your musings.

    Duke
    http://thedailyduke.com/20-idealistic-emails-day-5/

  12. Hmmm……hope this isn’t a double comment. Me and my computer seem to be having a fight.

    I do think we should bail out the big 3, but only if done the way I mentioned at my site. Hope you’ll take a look and let me know what you think.

    Duke

  13. I am also a former Republican who voted for Obama. I am never going back. The hatred and the fear is so intense right now. I am especially discouraged when I sit in church worrying about what people must think of my Obama stickers – do they hate me? It’s a scary time.

  14. I’m aghast that people are actually emailing you their ugliness and hope that they will soon take their exhausted minds for a nap.

    Your post is sizzling hot.

  15. Ryan, Duke, Kimmie and Steadycat,

    Receiving your feedback is an enormous boost of encouragement. I’m grateful for you not only taking the time to read this…but for leaving a comment.

    The only way any of this can work is if we, as a nation, are UNITED. Evidently, it appears that so many of the Republican’s don’t understand this.

    I view this election as the most important in my lifetime…and I know you are of the same opinion. The schoolyard bully tactics need to stop. However, if they are not stopped from those at the TOP of the RNC ticket…how will that happen?

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle

  16. Sorry about the late reply to the Ask Box Questions comment, been really busy. I trying to understand your comment but not sure if I understand. Are we talking about the abusive other or the new one that you found?

  17. Powerful post. I agree with the others that have left commets. Like so many, I’ve been following other places you write. Where you get your ideas are a mystery to me. You must have a mind like a steel trap, once something gets in, it never leaves your thinking process.

    Your last piece in the New York Times was one I printed out and it ended up being circulated around the office.

    The effort you put into your writing is appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Categories

