Posted by: michelle2005 | November 5, 2008

Finally… Our Nation Voted for “The Dream”

dr-king-i-have-a-dream-speech

Those of you that have been following this blog, know and understand the reason behind the way I view certain social issues.  The post I did on October 3 titled…”An Awakening to A World of Injustice” allows those of you that haven’t read much of this blog…a ‘view’ from behind my eyes.  I simply have no words to adequately express what is within my heart at this moment.  Yet, if you read the post I mentioned, you may get a hint of what I mean

After all that I’ve seen, witnessed and been part of…I can honestly say that I never imagined that I’d live long enough to see this “dream” realized.  No, I don’t mean only for our African American citizens…but for ALL CITIZENS!

The continual rhetoric of “Red vs Blue” states, division, strife, bickering and backbiting is a destructive force.  The one central message we’ve heard all along from President Elect Barack Obama…was one of hope and change.  His calm and steady manner in all situations was something I’d not seen in ANY leader in my lifetime.  The ability to infuse renewed hope and confidence is the hallmark of a true leader.  There was no fearmongering, that we as a nation had become so accustomed.   We are the UNITED STATES!

Yes, there will be major issues to resolve as a nation.  However, having the right leadership, I’m confident that solutions will be found.  I am also well aware that this will not be an instant “fix”.  It will take time, and much work.  If we all work together, solutions can be found and implemented.

Below is a portion of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s speech, “I Have A Dream”

free-at-last

 

I have a dream today.

I have a dream that one day every valley shall be exalted, every hill and mountain shall be made low, the rough places will be made plain, and the crooked places will be made straight, and the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together.

This is our hope. This is the faith that I go back to the South with. With this faith we will be able to hew out of the mountain of despair a stone of hope. With this faith we will be able to transform the jangling discords of our nation into a beautiful symphony of brotherhood. With this faith we will be able to work together, to pray together, to struggle together, to go to jail together, to stand up for freedom together, knowing that we will be free one day.

This will be the day when all of God’s children will be able to sing with a new meaning, “My country, ’tis of thee, sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing. Land where my fathers died, land of the pilgrim’s pride, from every mountainside, let freedom ring.”

And if America is to be a great nation this must become true. So let freedom ring from the prodigious hilltops of New Hampshire. Let freedom ring from the mighty mountains of New York. Let freedom ring from the heightening Alleghenies of Pennsylvania!

Let freedom ring from the snowcapped Rockies of Colorado!

Let freedom ring from the curvaceous slopes of California!

But not only that; let freedom ring from Stone Mountain of Georgia!

Let freedom ring from Lookout Mountain of Tennessee!

Let freedom ring from every hill and molehill of Mississippi. From every mountainside, let freedom ring.

And when this happens, when we allow freedom to ring, when we let it ring from every village and every hamlet, from every state and every city, we will be able to speed up that day when all of God’s children, black men and white men, Jews and Gentiles, Protestants and Catholics, will be able to join hands and sing in the words of the old Negro spiritual, “Free at last! free at last! Thank God Almighty, we are free at last!”

 http://www.usconstitution.net/dream.html

 

Michelle

 

 

Responses

  1. You were right, you were right! I’ve been following your blog from its inception with interest.

    I’ve followed your articles in the NY Times and Washington Post. You’ve been steady and reassuring, without being harsh.

    Thank you for taking the time to answer my many emails, and your wise advice. Now, it’s my turn to ask something of you. FINISH WRITING YOUR BOOKS! I’m sure I’m not the only ones that’s made this request. People need to hear what you have to say.

    The humorous stories you’ve written and put on your blog are wonderfully funny. The name you selected for your site is perfect.

    Thanks for a great ride through this election!

  2. Alex,

    Thank you for being such a regular reader of this site. Your gracious comments regarding my other work is deeply appreciated. However, as I’ve said all along, I write what I believe, have seen, and been a part.

    Your emails have always kept me on my toes. Often, when I’d see an email from you, I’d laugh, as I knew it would be full of questions. You are on the right track….never give up on your goals.

    Kindest Regards,

    Michelle

  3. Michelle — Wow! What great way to express what so many of us are feeling right now. You’re doing a fantastic job.

    Thank you for your efforts.

    Duke
    http://thedailyduke.com/amazing-videos/

  4. I definitely agree. I attended the celebration at Grant Park and felt so liberated and excited. I finally feel that Americans can see a little light at the end of the tunnel.

    I love your blogs, Michelle. You right from the heart.

    🙂

  5. Michelle is like a shining star. x

    What has just happened is a display of the change of consciousness for a great many Americans. We are evolving. Today, I can say I’m proud to be an American.

  6. Duke, Myundiary and Steadycat,

    Your most gracious comments caused me to weep. There’s no way this election could have been as successful unless we were all working together…and we have been.

    Although many waited in lines that took them hours to get inside to vote…they waited. There was no bickering back and forth with those in line…they waited patiently.

    Thank you for taking the time to read the things I write…and more importantly that you took the time to leave a comment.

    We can now say, too, THANK YOU PRESIDENT OBAMA for the courage to run for the highest office in the government. Our nation is grateful!

    Michelle

  7. I’m one of those that have been following your blog since you began writing on wordpress. I’m simply blown away by the amount of topics you cover.

    I’ve also been reading the comments left by others. Like so many, I’ve been reading the articles you’ve done for NY Times, Washington Post.

    You’ve taken some heat for your stance on political issues. There have been a few times I wanted to respond for you. How do you keep from getting angry?

    Like the comment above from Duke, I agree that you’re doing a great job. Keep telling it like it is.

  8. michelle, just came across your blog thru some miracle (even though i’m not much of a believer). anyway, glad i did! very nice work. i wrote about this as well. a bit amateurish compared to your piece. you might still enjoy it though. it’s short and not too painful. hope you get a chance to read. and again thanks. “i’ll be back”!

    http://cranelegspond.blogspot.com/2008/11/742-turning-page.html

  9. I love that tyhey voted that way

  10. Ello! How are you doing? Have not heard from you for a while, probably since I been very busy. Ill try to read all the new posts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

